S. S. #16 – Wellesley

“The first village school was built of logs in 1848 in Brenneman’s Bush.  It was destroyed by fire in 1849 and replaced by another log school on land owned by Dr. M. R. Berst.

In 1859 a stone school replaced the second log school. When it became too small, it was replaced by a large, two-storey brick school in 1898. The 1859 stone school became the Memorial Hall and is now used as a daycare centre.

In 1930 the school received accreditation as a “Continuation School” to accommodate high school students as well as the lower grades. The school was closed in 1967 when the new Wellesley Public School was built on Queen’s Bush Road. The “old school” now houses the Wellesley Branch of the Waterloo Regional Library, Theatre Wellesley, and the WTHHS Historical Room. The school was designated an historic building in 1989.

The Historical Room collection includes many school-related documents including an almost complete set of attendance registers from 1890-1970 as well as some class photos.

We have the S. S. #16 School Visitors Book available in our Digital Collection. It includes reports of visits by school trustees, some written in German as well as minutes of Wellesley School Board Annual meetings.”  – From the Wellesley Heritage and Historical Society

In 2025, Wellesley Public School will welcome 620 students in Grades Kindergarten to Grade Eight from town and surrounding rural areas.